The use of blood in magic…

The magic community seems to have a very large divide in opinion about the use of blood in magic.  Some people think it should be used sparingly as it can be dangerously powerful, others believe that it shouldn’t be used at all because it instantly opens up your spells to some sort of dark power.  I have my own philosophy about the use of blood, which is still being developed by testing and observation.

I had only a little bit of experience with magic before I started my training with the Liber KKK.  It mostly involved sigils with a bit of circle magic stirred into the mix.  I always wondered with this type of magic if the incorporation of blood would be a beneficial thing, and how one would even work it into the process effectively.  I slowly started to test the effects of sigils with and without the use of blood, and I noticed that my blood sigils tended to be more likely to succeed, and with a greater effect than my normal sigils.

As I started training with the Liber KKK I decided to work blood into my conjurations wherever I felt appropriate, and also the other methods I had learned to charge sigils effectively.  I guess that’s one of the things I really enjoy about Chaos magic, Carroll doesn’t give a lot of guidance, so you are forced to take your own beliefs and practices and use them to create your own personally distinct style of magic.  It just so happens that my personal style of magic uses blood in nearly every conjuration I do.

I strongly believe that if the blood isn’t yours, don’t bother using it.  According to my beliefs, the whole reason to use blood is to commit to the outcome of your intent with a sacrifice.  What have you sacrificed if you are using someone else’s blood?  Nothing.  Even if they willingly donate it, it really doesn’t serve any purpose unless the outcome of the spell is designed to target them, in which case: bleed away.  This also brings up the topic of intention.  Saved blood does you very little good.  For the most powerful effects, it needs to be drawn with intention for each different spell you are going to cast with it.  Much like in sigil use, the more broad you make the intent, the less effective it will become.

The final points that I thought I would bring up is the method and timing of acquisition of blood.  As I stated before, one of the big reasons to use blood is because it’s a sacrifice.  So, doing something that makes you bleed easily is a bit of a shortcut.  My preferred method is to make a fresh wound and draw out a bit of blood for my intended purpose.  I make it a bit of its own ritual, using my Athame to make the cut.  I never need much, typically a drop or two will suffice.  Part of the trick to it, is when you have to concentrate on wounding yourself, it helps push that intent into your subconscious.  You have to make sure you don’t go too deep, you don’t want to be too gentile or you will have to sit and hack on yourself all night, and all of that takes concentration, which takes your conscious mind off of your intent.  I find that bleeding myself can be its own form of gnosis.  I never just grab the knife, make a deep cut, and be done with it.  I’m very methodical in how I do it.  I take my time as my intentions are never to do major damage to myself, I just want to let out a little bit of my life essence to help me in what I do.  I also tend to do it as one of the final steps in my enchanting/binding/charging rituals.  It is a powerful finish, and with a gnosis-like secondary effect, it can help put the cap on the intentions of the entire conjuration.

Again, as with all Chaos Magicians, this is what I believe, and it may vary wildly when compared to what others believe, perform, and practice.  Take from it what you will, or take nothing.  It’s all just my point of view.  I just go with what works for me, and cast out what doesn’t.  There may be a time when I save the powerful effects of blood for special purposes, but at this point in my learning it is great to be able to have such strong effects that I can’t just attribute them to coincidence.

Leave a Reply

