Kiss November goodbye…

I thought I would make a post real quick saying that I’m probably not going to be posting in the month of November. Why? NaNoWriMo!!!
Haven’t head of it? Well, it’s about the nuttiest thing a person can do in my opinion. The goal is to start on November first and reach a goal of 50,000 words by the end of the month. Hopefully you have a completed short novel at that stage, but if not you should at least have a good chunk of a bigger novel finished.

For those of you that find this kind of thing interesting, nanowrimo.org is where you’ll want to head. There are lots of local events and online resources to help you get going, even if you’re coming in right before it starts.

I attempted a NaNo in 2008 while I was still in school and working full time. Needless to say I came out with about 30,000 words of useless nonsense. The good news is that I learned some awesome lessons, even if some of them were only ‘good ideas on ways not to write a book’.
The book will have nothing to do with chaos at all. This one will be pure fiction (although many people see Chaos that way) and will be entirely mundane. I really don’t want to try and shoehorn this wacky stuff into a novel that doesn’t call for it.

I’m taking a different approach to my writing this time as this will be my seventh attempt at completing a novel. My ‘normal’ method hasn’t worked six times, so I think it’s time to change things up a bit.

In Chaos news, I have compiled a bunch of stuff together and have considered the novelization of my experience in working with Chaos. I don’t know if it will work out, or if I even really want to do it, but it’s something I’ve been tossing around. Just my typed journals come to over 61,000 words, and I have five(?) written journals that I have kept over the years too.

I just thought a novel would be an interesting way to introduce a larger audience to Chaos as opposed to yet another ‘how to’ book that ends up on Amazon or (if you’re lucky) the occult section at Barnes & Noble. Movies and novels have always been an interesting way to throw concepts at the uneducated public to make them ‘want to learn more’ about a subject.

Again, I’m getting ahead of myself. It’s not something I’m actively working on, just something I’ve considered and did some ‘how much crap do I already have’ exploring into. The one thing I have never done is try to make money off of my Chaos practice in either selling the information, advertising on this site, or putting out some ‘book of shadows’ for teenagers to mess around with. I’ve always felt that the monetization of what I do would somehow cheapen it.

Perhaps I’ll just do a ‘collection’ or something that encompasses a similar scope to this blog and put it out as a free eBook or something. That way I can spread information around without being poked into that ‘sheister’ realm that many authors seem to slip into.

Anyway, I’m going to be writing like a nut over the next few weeks and will be shunning friends and family in the name of a novel. I’ll see you back in December. Hopefully I’ll still be in one piece.

-D.S.

2 responses to “Kiss November goodbye…

    • Looks fine to me. The big trick is just finding something that works for you. I’m sure that my methods would be entirely useless to some, but they work with my style and seem to give my brain what it needs to get the job done.

      Enjoy your journey into the occult and meditation both. They are both wonderfully diverse and useful practices that should serve you well int he long run.

Leave a Reply

