Back into the swing of things…

English: Danboard holding a Christmas gift.

English: Danboard holding a Christmas gift. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

After a long holiday season, some work can finally be done without insane amounts of distraction and interruption.  Why play the Christmas game?  Well, if it wasn’t deemed Jesus’s birthday by the church it’s entirely pagan, and that’s pretty cool to me.

Being of no definable religion has its advantages too.  Christmas loot?  Hell yes.  An excuse to have a feast and booze bender for Winter Solstice?  Indeed.  Old-school gift giving on New Years?  Oh yeah.  I think that’s the best one too.  The wife and I run around to the post-Christmas sales and nab huge deals on things.  It’s like multiple holidays of gifts in a short period of time.  We still have New Year’s eve to go, but I can already tell you that it will be legendary.  I’m really not much of a drinker, but I do make a few exceptions throughout the year.

Last year Christmas was fun too.  We did the normal ‘exchanging of loot’ and did our traditional Chinese buffet, and then read tarot cards well into the night.  It was especially memorable since my Brother-In-Law is a good little Catholic boy and we blew his mind.

Now that we are almost done celebrating what we are, and who we are, I can get back down to some serious business again.  My first project has been to get back into doing my Theban calligraphy again.  I really like doing my journals and other writings in Theban not just because of the fact that family members can’t read it, it also gives things a personalized look that makes me happy when I’ve done them.  After careful writing with ink, terrified the whole time that I’ll make a mistake and have to start over, I like to go through and add a splash of flourish and illumination so many of them come out as a piece of artwork that reflects my artistic abilities and my beliefs at the same time.  I think they will be an interesting thing to give my daughter when she gets older.  It could be interesting for her to see a part of her father that she may not have known.

Or she could convert to Mormonism and burn them.  You never can tell.

Leave a Reply

