The wonderful Christmas [tarot] cards…

What does a non-Christian do on Christmas Day? This year I ate Chinese food and read tarot cards. And not just any readings, these were readings for my Catholic brother-in-law.

He had never been exposed to the cards, or anything outside of a church for that matter, so this was quite a treat for both of us. It was a fairly tame reading; I let him ask the questions and steer the nature of the topics we explored. They were all fairly mundane and involved the usual questions about career, money, and love. That is, until my beautiful wife started yapping about what the cards could really do.

She told him about my previous dream reading that I did for her, and he wanted the same thing. And, in a similar manner to what my wife did, he refused to divulge any information to me whatsoever. The entire question was, “What was the meaning of the dream that I had last night? “ Well, shit. It’s nice to have a little bit of context in what you’re doing, as it makes it a hell of a lot easier to sift through all the possible meanings and come up with something concrete and relevant. But, just like my previous one, I had nothing at all to go on. I warned him that these kinds of readings can take me a while, so he sat patiently while I mulled over the cards and tried to come up with a stream of meaning in the seemingly random collection of cards that were laid out before me.

I finally gave him my interpretation of the cards and his eyes got wide, and he announced that I nailed it, and what I said made perfect sense; almost too much sense. But, I was left with a problem: unlike my wife, he wouldn’t divulge the dream. Apparently it was something very personal to him, and he didn’t want me to know what it was about in any way. And, unlike my wife’s reading, I was presented with meaning instead of content, so I still don’t have a good idea what the damn thing was about.

It’s not like his dream is any of my business, but finding out what it is helps me find out if there was any information that I missed or discarded as irrelevant that should have been included. There was one piece I left out of my wife’s reading (because it seemed to be just too bizarre to be correct) that turned out to be spot on, but I would not have learned that lesson without her divulging the information.

So, it was a good session. I got to open his eyes to a totally different world of possibilities, and he came away with information that he was desirous of and found very valuable. I would have preferred that additional chance to learn and grow after my mind-meltingly difficult dream reading, but it was worth doing just to show him that there are forces available to us that are well beyond what you can learn at church.

IO Chaos!

Leave a Reply

