Conjuration Four – Sorcery Invocation

Dress different, act different, be different.

Sorcery Invocation is a simple concept really.  People instantly judge you based on how you look, act, and speak.  Once they make that judgement, it takes a long time to convince them otherwise.  Our minds tend to gravitate to what we already know, so not changing our mind about someone is a whole lot easier than changing it.

My wife likes to call a specific outfit that I have my  “Billy Badass “ gear.  It’s really nothing more than a pair of shoes and a leather jacket, but it changes my entire look so much that we have been fascinated over the years by the responses.  I know a lot of it has to do with my size.  At over 6 1/2 feet tall, and a little over 300 pounds, I’m a big, big dude.  When you throw me in a biker coat, shave my head, and throw on the work boots, I look like a totally different person.  I have been accused of being a bouncer, part of a rock group that was about to perform, a biker, and (my personal favorite) a professional wrestler.  The guy who thought I was a wrestler was so convinced that I was, that my attempts to deny it made him even more convinced that I was, and that I just didn’t want people to know.

With the county fair going on, I will have the opportunity to mess with the public at large for the entire weekend, and I’m sure the results will be fun.  At the Sorcery level, I have been playing with invocation for many years, only I never really knew what to call it.  I only knew that if I changed the way I looked, walked, spoke, and acted, I could get away with it every time.  I also clean up very well, and learned proper manners as a child, so I have performed my little stunt as everything from lowly ghetto thug to making friends (and having a couple of smokes) with the late, great Frank Kelly Freas at a $150 per plate awards banquet  I had no idea it would be classed as magic when I did it in the past, but it has provided me with some of the best memories of my life.

So, I’m not going to wait for my results from this weekend, I’m simply going to call it complete now that I have a better understanding of what it is I actually do.  I’ve been doing it for years, so (much like the tarot) it will be an ongoing practice of mine.

Leave a Reply

