Some much needed relaxation…

By the time I got home from work last night I was sporting a major headache.  The stress has been piling up lately, and I guess it just decided to manifest itself in an annoying way.  I didn’t have a good way to take care of it with anything but a couple acetaminophen while my daughter was awake, but once she went to bed it was relaxation time.

By the time she went to sleep it was moving towards a migraine.  My head was just crippling, I had sound and light sensitivity, and it was painful enough to start making me feel ill.  In the old days I would have piled a few excedrin into the system, but I’m off the aspirin (and derivatives) for a long, long time.

So what was the grand solution?  True Blood and an Amberbock.  I got the second dvd of season 3 in the mail so I popped it in, turned off the lights, sat in my comfy chair, and sucked down some suds.  After the first episode I was feeling improved but not better, but by the end of the second episode I was right as rain.

So, what’s the point of this post?  It’s this: Take care of yourself.  Everything can wait a day if it really has to.  The Liber KKK is still here for me today, even though I didn’t do one damn thing to further myself in it last night.  My Tarot cards don’t hate me for not being used for an evening, my unpainted conjuration won’t be any less powerful, and Christians still hate me.

As simple as the advice may sound, it’s only really recently that I have come to put any of it into practice.  It’s one of the reasons my illumination lamp lives in my smoking lounge.  It’s there to remind me when I need a break to evaluate how big the break needs to be.  It does it’s just very well.  I was having a smoke last night, head pounding, and was looking at my little creation and I decided that I would kill the entire evening, without guilt, and just piss it away on relaxation.

Do the same.  We all need a break sometimes.

Leave a Reply

