On the nature of Chaos…

Yesterday was a beast.  I’m working on a huge project at work that I haven’t had much time to apply myself to.  I got a lot done Monday and Tuesday, but yesterday was a total waste.  I spent six hours trying to figure out how to align some video inside of a 3D environment to eliminate some graphical anomalies I was getting during rendering.  I finally figured out what’s wrong with it this morning, and the term  “facepalm “ is all that comes to mind.  You might be wondering what in the hell a hard day at work has to do with Chaos, but I promise I will eventually get there.

Do you remember when one of our mars orbiters crashed?  The problem was a small oversight in the conversion of measurement units.  This small, nearly insignificant problem, when extrapolated over a massive distance, meant the lander turned into a lawn-dart, instead of doing what was expected of it.  That is a textbook example of chaos.  My problem at work turned out to be a very similar phenomenon.  I forgot that computers start counting at zero, instead of one like we do in our everyday lives.  So, to make a long, very technical story short, I included zero on both ends of my squares, so every damn one of them overlaps by a pixel on both the x and y planes.  A small oversight that caused massive changes in the final outcome of the project.

In Liber Kaos, Peter Carroll suggests that we should change our history to change our present.  While you can’t go back and dig the martian orbiter up, hit it with some Elmer’s glue, and start over, the versioning I do on my project files allows me to do something similar.  I need to revert my file and tweak it (just a little) so my final product will have the outcome and look that I need to be successful.  We attempt to do a similar thing with Chaos Magic when we cast spells.  Sometimes we want to affect the future outcome of a certain situation, but we can also change our present reality, and the only way to do that is by changing the past.

While I’m not saying I can sit down, light a candle, and wave my hands to align all 864 square properly, the concept still holds as a solid comparison to Chaos.  Magic would be more like making a subordinate do the work for me so when I arrive at the office tomorrow, the file is in the state of reality that I desire.  Sadly, there are none who know how to do what I need, so I have no choice but to do it myself.  It’s laborious, but job security is a wonderful thing.

Leave a Reply

